Skip to content

Discussion Time! – What’s The “Healthy Way?”

Okay…”serious post” time today. Why not? I can’t be ridiculous all the time (okay, I probably could…)

So, the other night, I was flipping through channels because I couldn’t sleep and came across some documentary type show about fitness/weight loss/etc. I really wish I knew what the show was that was “featuring” that subject, but I have no idea honestly.

Anyway, it was talking about fads, special diets (Atkins, HcG etc), diet pills, and finally the healthy ways to lose weight.

Obviously I am no professional – I am just a realist with an opinion – but frankly, some of the things that people believe blows my mind. There were some things on there that I didn’t even know was a thing that people had ever believed/followed (the “chocolate diet?” Really?)

I know there are scientists, and some sort of science behind most things, and obviously it does work for some people – but I still think the only way to have long lasting weight loss and/or health is the good old fashioned healthy, balanced eating and exercise.

Some of the “fad” things it touched on about was:

  • Atkins diet (low carb)
  • HcG diet 
  • “Diet pills” (appetite suppressants, fat burners, etc)
  • Meal replacements (shakes, etc)

Obviously there are a lot of diet pills out there that have weird or harmful ingredients in them – and did you know that 65% of those on the market have some sort of warning label on them stating that it could cause liver damage? LIVER. DAMAGE.

“My liver is failing, but damn I lost 40 pounds in a month, so it was definitely worth it!” Said no one, EVER.

I guess it is just like cigarettes or anything else that has a warning label on it though, people still do it.

So then it goes into the healthy things and suggestions. It touched on:

  • A healthy, balanced diet
  • Exercise
  • Calorie/nutritional tracking
  • [Healthy] Restrictions

Basically, all the stuff we always hear about. The fundamentals of weight loss and health, if you will.

So, what I gathered from watching that at 2am, was that people are lazy and try to cut corners and want immediate results. Honestly, I think a lot of that is human nature and we can’t necessarily blame anyone for falling into an advertisement for a miracle. I think sometimes we just have to learn for ourselves.

Also, if it seems too good to be true, it probably is.

So – rant over – but now I want to talk about it ad I’m so curious if anyone has any experience (or thoughts) on this stuff!

And just throwing this out there, but this is a safe zone and I want everyone to feel like they can answer honestly because it is about sharing – I don’t want to see anyone attacking anyone else in the comments. So, play nice people!

  • Have you ever participated in a “fad” diet or program. What was your experience with it? Did it work? Did it last? Would you recommend it? What did you learn?
  • If you are someone who has lost (or is working on losing) weight, or taken on a healthier lifestyle – in your own personal experience, what would your advice be to those who are looking to do the same?
  • Do you think what is considered “healthy” should be a different definition per individual person? Do we need guidelines to tell us what’s healthy? 
  • Please feel free to share any additional notes or thoughts on this subject!
17 Comments Post a comment
  1. Anyone I EVER knew who did Atkins gained it all back. Plus more. Because eliminating or restricting whole food groups doesn’t work. It is a simple equation that people over complicate. Eat LESS. Move MORE. But people want to think there is something else to blame other than their own behavior. Its the carbs. Its the sugar. Its my knee. I can’t exercise, it hurts. So of course they are looking for whatever is going to fix IT instead of changing their behavior.

    Sorry, its a soapbox for me. I have a friend that is constantly talking about a liver cleanse, a juicing stint, some other supplement or gimmick that is going to turn things around. I tough-love him and tell him to MOVE. To do something TODAY.

    The Kidless Kronicles

    February 21, 2013
    • That is the point! I know people feel strongly about this so I’m definitely interested in hearing what everyone has to say about it!! And I agree with you on the eliminating whole food groups, that just cant be good!!

      February 21, 2013
  2. Losing weight was hard work for me. I wasn’t used to putting in the time and effort into making healthy meals and working out. Would it have been easier to go to the drive thru after work instead of the grocery store and cook up my dinner? Absolutely. Was it hard to get up early some mornings so I could get my workout in before going to work? Definitely. But I did it anyways because I had a goal I wanted to reach.

    Reaching a goal is tough – that’s what makes it a goal. There’s no easy way to go about losing weight. There’s no easy solution. If you put the time and effort it, it’ll happen. If you try to cut corners with crazy diets and weird workouts you won’t lose weight either.

    I could rant about this forever.

    February 21, 2013
    • Agreed! I like your choice of words and how you said it was tough and thats what makes it a goal! Very true!

      February 21, 2013
  3. My Mom, Brother, and Sister-in-law all did the HCG diet. I didn’t like the idea of it but let them do what they wanted. They ended up loosing a lot of weight and looking good for their wedding, but they are slowy gaining all the weight back. The HCG puts you on some ridiculous 500 calories per day diet. Well duhhh, if anyone only ate 500 calories they’d lose a lot of weight. Once the “diet” was over, they went back to eating a normal amount of calories and they are all gaining their weight back. I am not showing my Mom how to lose weight through exercise. Soon we will work on nutrition

    February 21, 2013
    • Yeah! I know two people that were “successful” (as in the lost weight) with HcG which sounded absurd to me too with how restrictive it was plus the 500 calories coming from only a select amount of foods.
      One of them is still doing it right now and has lost weight.. and another lost a lot and gained it (plus more) back and talking to her she said she has learned her lesson and is taking the “slow and steady” exercise and healthy eating way this time!

      February 21, 2013
  4. I totally agree…there is no “trick” although everyone would love to think that there is. I have struggled with weight my entire life and in all honesty I feel like I have never been successful at figuring out (for myself) how to get a good balance. I don’t feel like I have an awful diet and I do exercise, however I just have never been a weight that I wanted. Then I start to wonder WHY do I even care. If I am healthy and eat healthy food, why do I feel like I have to be a certain weight? I tell ya to a degree (and a big one I think) the media has totally altered the way we will forever think about body image. Being the weight and size I am affects NOTHING about my life in a negative way OTHER than what I think about myself. I don’t like the way this looks or that looks and wish I could wear those clothes and those pants etc…I can guarantee most other people could care less about what I look like because they are too worried about what they look like. We are all so concerned about it,for WHAT purpose? I could go on and on about this subject too. I think bottom line is right, there is no tricks…you have to be conscious of what you put in your body and you have to move. That’s it.

    February 21, 2013
    • Agreed! And you bring up another good point because you are HEALTHY! So it’s not like you are I healthy and have the issues of that (rather than just vanity).
      Good response!

      February 21, 2013
  5. I like the topic of this post! What works for one person is not necessarily going to work for another person – I mean, all of our bodies are different. But I think it’s safe to say that staying away from processed foods is healthy for EVERYONE. So many of those fad diets are designed to help you lose weight, but they do absolutely nothing for your health. Real food is the way to go. You’ll feel healthier, and your body will find its natural weight.

    February 21, 2013
  6. I was thinking about this the other day myself after reading some articles in health magazines… Oftentimes diet and exercise are encouraged in the main articles, but then there are those ads in the back of the magazine that offer these miracle diet pills or powder that you sprinkle on top of your food before you eat… Uh, right. It made me giggle your line about the liver – completely true!

    February 21, 2013
  7. I think people WANT to believe that something like the “chocolate diet” could work… because no one wants to do anything that’s hard!

    February 22, 2013
    • I mean a chocolate diet does sound delicious…haha! common sense should definitely take over like “hmmmm that doesnt sound that healthy” HAHA.

      February 22, 2013
  8. Kayla Borba #

    I personally think cleaning up eating habits and working out constantly, works really well, its more like a life change thing than a diet where you do it for a certain amount of time, only cause ive known lots of people that do those diets and gain it all back, esp HGC and the ideal protien. And eating clean doesnt mean you cant have ice cream and a burger every now and then…cause girl once every couple weeks aint gonna kill someone lol. As long as your incorporating healthy foods and workin it, you can lose without those things! So yeah just my wee little opinion!

    February 22, 2013
  9. I’m so happy you stopped by my blog- love yours!!:) Great post

    February 22, 2013
  10. There really isn’t a trick, hard work and eating right gives results. I have lost almost 50lbs since last May and while I don’t lose a lot every week, I also refuse to cut out entire food groups or deny myself foods that I want. I watch my portions, kick ass working out and my body responds how it will 🙂

    February 23, 2013

Leave a reply.... don't be shy!

