Skip to content

Shrimp Pasta in a [Lighter] Rose Sauce

I don’t even remember the last time I shared a recipe.

I actually threw this together last night. I was inspired by a seafood pasta my dad used to make all the time. With them being in town last week, we were reminiscing about all the delicious things he used to make (we are a family of food nerds) and it got me thinking bout some new recipes.

It was a total win. Even Torrance liked it, and he’s always skeptical of “creamy” things. PS- he hates cream cheese…and yogurt – ignorance is bliss in this house though.

And I even ate it leftover the next day for lunch – and I am weird about leftovers.

(Also, I realize the picture below is possibly a little debatable on wether it looks really appetizing or not, but since the consensus was that it is in fact, delicious; who really gives a shit, right?)

photo

Shrimp Pasta in a [Lighter] Rose Sauce

Yield: about 4 large servings
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Pasta of choice (I used angel hair)
  • 1 lb of peeled, cleaned, and dry shrimp (would be great with chicken too, which I would cube)
  • 1/2 stick butter (this is the unhealthy part, but it’s needed!)
  • half a small(ish) lemon
  • 3 tbsp minced garlic
  • fresh or dried herbs (I used dried parsley and basil flakes)
  • sliced raw veggies of choice (I used mushrooms, zucchini, and broccoli)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup light (or reduced fat) cream cheese
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Start cooking pasta (you will need a 1/2 cup of pasta water later too!)
  2. In large pan, melt butter over medium heat. Squeeze the juice from the lemon in there and add the minced garlic.
  3. Season the shrimp (or chicken) with salt & pepper and then add to heated butter mix. Toss around a few times until almost done.
  4. Add veggies to mix and sprinkle it all with herbs. Let it all cook for a few.
  5. Now, add the can of tomatoes – liquid and all. I don’t like a ton of tomato chunks so I only used about half the tomatoes but all of the liquid.
  6. Add the cream cheese in a few globs (mmmm globs is an appetizing word, I know) and also the greek yogurt. Stir around until the cream cheese and yogurt are melted throughout and it is starting to look more even and like a sauce.
  7. Add the 1/2 cup of (hot) pasta water and stir more.
  8. Let this simmer for a bit on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. This will allow the sauce to thicken some; however, this is not meant to be a real thick and hearty sauce, so the end result will still be on the thin side – that’s the point.
  9. Serve over pasta and enjoy!
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I usually use cream but have been using greek yogurt more and more. This looks good to me! I love leftovers but try not to bring seafood leftovers because it can be offensive to some in the office microwave! I bet this sauce would work great with fish, shellfish or a mixture.

    September 16, 2014
  2. mmmm, looks delicious! 🙂

    September 17, 2014

Leave a reply.... don't be shy!

